Adapting to a changing world: Challenges and solutions for small islands


Maluku, the spice islands, has long been known as a paradise for the spice traders. Also known recently as the thousand island province, these islands have attracted many traders from various countries since 14th century. Not only because the islands were flourish with nutmeg and clove but also the surrounding ocean contain unmatched richness in marine resources. Indonesia is now the third largest producer of fisheries products and Maluku has been the main exporter of tuna, sea cucumber, squid, lobster, grouper and sea weed for decades.



The conference will:

  1. explore existing and emerging challenges around environmental and resource sustainability
  2. identify collaborative multidisciplinary opportunities to explore emerging innovation and business opportunities
  3. develop strategies to address Indonesia’s National Research Priorities

Output of the conference

  1. The existence of platform for all stake holders to exchange knowledge and technology for development of small islands in Maluku in sustainable manner.
  2. Maluku will be well known among other country for its richness in natural resources, culture and its beauty
  3. A comprehensive recommendation for development of Maluku based on inovative science and technologieis.
  4. Proceeding that is indexed by Scopus

Conference Topics

In line with the theme “Adapting to a changing world: Challenges and solutions for small islands”, the topics in this conferences are directed to answer problems faced by coastal community. Therefore, topics chosen in this conference including:

  1. Fisheries
  2. Marine tourism
  3. Threats to ecosystems
  4. Maritime health
  5. Marine biodiversity and bioprospecting
  6. Marine technology

International Scientific Board

  1. Dr. Maria Beger (Leeds University, United Kingdom)
  1. Prof. Dr. Stephen Smith (National Marine Science Centre, Southern Cross University, Australia)
  2. Prof. Dr. Kirsten Benkendorff (Southern Cross University,Australia)
  3. Prof. Dr. Willem Renema (Naturalis Biodiversity Center, Leiden Netherlands)
  4. Prof. Laszlo Szekely, MD, P.hD.
  5. Prof. Dr. Serge Andrefouet (IRD, France)
  6. Prof. Dr. Kei Kawai (Kagoshima University, Japan)

Indonesian Scientific Board

  1. Dr. A. S. W. Retraubun
  2. Dr. Ir. A. S. Khouw, M.Phil.
  3. dr. Bertha Que, M.Si.
  4. Ir. W. R. Hetharia, M.App.Sc
  5. Dr. Jamaluddin Jompa
  6. Dr. Ocky Karna Rajasa

Keynote Speaker

Prof. Dr.  Bambang Permadi Soemantri Brodjonegoro

Minister of Research and Technology /
National Research and Innovation Agency of The Republic of Indonesia

Invited Speakers

Prof. Dr. Stephen Smith
National Marine Science Centre, Southern Cross University, Australia

Dr. Ilona Denisenko
IMHA, Russia

Prof. Dr. Kirsten Benkendorff
Southern Cross University, Australia

Prof. Dr. Willem Renema
Naturalis Biodiversity Center, Leiden, Netherlands

Prof. Laszlo Szekely, MD, P.hD.
Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Prof. Dr. Serge Andrefouet
IRD, France

Prof. Dr. Kei Kawai
Kagoshima University, Japan

Dr. Mareike Huhn
Bochum University, Germany

Prof. Dr. Ocky Karna Rajasa
Deputy Chairman of Earth Science - LIPI, Indonesia


National and international researchers and lecturers will present their scientific projects in this conference. Both oral and poster presentation will be accomodated in this conference.


It is expected that researcher, lecturers, students and any representatives from academic, govermnet and NGO’s will attend this conference

Conference Fee

Registration fees: 

  • Presenter:
    • Rp. 1.500.000,- (Domestic);
    • $100.- (International)
  • Participant: Free


  • Certificate
  • Proceeding Indexed by Scopus


  • Conference 31 October 2020, Ambon, Indonesia.
  • The conference will be conducted virtually
31 October 2020
08:00 – 09:00 Registration
09:00 – 10:00 Opening ceremony
10:00 – 10:30 Coffee break
10:30 – 12:00 Invited speakers panel 1
12:00 – 13:30 Lunch break
13:30 – 15:00 Invited speakers panel 2
15:00 – 15:30 Coffee break
15:30 – 17:00 Invited speakers panel 2
01 November 2020
08:00 – 09:00 Registration
09:00 – 10:00 Paralel session I
10:00 – 10:30 Coffee break
10:30 – 12:00 Paralel session II
12:00 – 13:30 Lunch break
13:30 – 15:00 Paralel session III
15:00 – 15:30 Coffee break
15:30 – 17:00 Paralel session IV
17:00 – 18:00 Closing Statement

Steering Committee


Prof. M. J. Saptenno, SH., M.Hum.

(Rector of Pattimura University)


1.       Prof. Dr. Leiwakabessy, M.Si. (VR I)

2.       Dr. Jantje Tjiptabudi, SH., M.Hum. (VR2)

3.       Dr. Yusuf Madubun, M.Si. (VR3)

4.       Dr. Muspida, M.Si (VR IV)

Organizing Committee:


1.      Dr. Gino V. Limmon (Chairman)

2.      Dr. J. M. S. Tetelepta(Vice Chairman)

3.      Dr. Ir. L. Siahainenia, M.Si. (Secretary)

4.      Dr. Ir. J. A. Pattikawa, M.Sc. (Secretary)

5.      Dr. Ir. H. Nanlohy, M.Si. (Treasurer)

6.      Ir. M. A. Tuapattinaja, M.Si.(Treasurer)

7.      Ir. Pr. A. Uneputty M.Phill


For presenter

Please sign in for your conference participation
Sign In
Forgot Password? Reset
Remember Me
Don't have an account? Create an Account